What is Cloud Testing? Cloud Testing Tools and Types | W3Softech

Cloud Testing:

Cloud Testing is defined as the process of testing Cloud Computing Services like Software, Hardware and other Remote Services. It is one of the Types of Software Testing generally used to perform on all cloud testing services.

Objectives of Cloud Testing:

  • The major objective is to reduce the execution time of testing for large applications
  • It helps in reduction of cost
  • More efficient and greater scalability
  • Helps to increase the mobility

Cloud Computing is mainly divided into three categories namely IaaS, PaaS and SaaS

Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS):

The name itself says that it works on physical resources like storage, network devices, computing servers, etc., these resources are provided as per the user requirement. It is the first and most important category also called the building block of a cloud.

Platform as a Service (PaaS):

It is the second category of the cloud and also called as Application Platform as a Service or Platform Based Service. It helps customers to develop, run and manage applications without any interruption to OS and required middleware, etc.,

Software as a Service (SaaS):

Software as a Service also called On-demand software or Software plus services. It is the final category of cloud computing. Up to certain features, it is available for the free later user to need to pay and get full access. Examples are Windows OS, Adobe Photoshop, etc.,

Cloud Testing Types

Types of Cloud Testing:

Cloud Testing works on both Functional Testing and Non-Functional Testing

System Testing:

Under given system requirements, system testing will perform testing to check all the functions of the application are working correctly.

Interoperability Testing:

This testing determines the flexibility and compatibility of the application while changing from one infrastructure to other

Acceptance Testing:

It is the final stage of testing under functional testing to ensure that it meets the user expectations

Availability Testing:

Here the admin has to make sure that the cloud is available always as there may be sudden functions are going on which do not interrupt the user activity

Multi-Tenancy Testing:

This shows that the application should perform correctly while multiple users are trying to access the application at an instant time.

Performance Testing:

Performance Testing is of two types Load Testing and Stress Testing. It ensures that the application must accept the load and stress from N no. of user requests. To perform well the cloud need to have elasticity which increases the usage as required

Security Testing:

It helps to check the security of the cloud. Authorized users will only access this with data protection.

Disaster Recovery Testing:

As the data is available in cloud servers sometimes there may be a cause of system failure, data loss or extreme workload. So this testing helps to measure how fast the error got found and any data loss occurred.

Cloud Testing Tools:

Here we provide the list of most important cloud testing tools

  • AppPerfect
  • Cloud Assault
  • CloudTestGo
  • HP LoadRunner
  • Jmeter
  • Keynote
  • LoadStorm
  • Nessus
  • Nmap
  • Parasoft SOAtest
  • Wireshark